How to Get Someone to Review Your Book

Wow. I just got off the phone with Scott Bradley, who is running the media and marketing campaign for The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur book by Mike Michalowicz. Scott also has a blog appropriately called Networking Effectively. I’m impressed with Scott and I’ll tell you why. In fact, Scott did such a good job reaching me/pitching the book, not only am I writing THIS post about HOW he and Mike are marketing geniuses, they’ll get a book review and perhaps more than that…a tele-conference, perhaps?? How and why was Scott so successful in reaching a busy mom entrepreneur like me and converting me as his newest fan (and Mike’s as well)?

I’ll tell you in a minute but first, I have to be perfectly honest, in general I am not a fan of book proposals/pitches for Startup Princess.com, unless your name is Seth Godin or Guy Kawasaki or Holly Buchanan. (Not that Seth and Guy have asked me (see his invite on this post!), but I did get Guy to send me a copy of his latest book for review, which I am very happy about).

I’m not a fan because reading a book and then posting a review takes a lot of time. And let’s be honest–unless you’re Problogger it’s hard to make money on affiliate links, so I don’t do it for that. Certainly I like to review books I want to read ANYWAY, yet I don’t really welcome books that aren’t on my list. So when I got an upbeat email from Fairy Godmother Heather Allard, I wasn’t so anxious because I had never heard of Mike Michalowicz (however, once you DO hear it, I doubt you’d forget it) so when I saw the email I wasn’t jumping at the opportunity, particularly because with the holidays coming…when will there be anytime?? But Scott stopped me in my tracks and made me think again.

Here’s the steps that Scott followed to get our attention:

1. I received a PERSONAL invite to review the book from my friend, Heather Allard. She said she wanted to introduce me to Scott and that we could get a copy of the book through him. Because it came from HER, I listened more than if Scott had contacted me cold on my blog.

2. I agreed to look at the book because it sounded interesting and because Heather was excited about it. Scott thanked me and asked if there was a time we could chat for a moment about WHAT HE COULD DO TO HELP US. This was the ticket…the golden ticket to my heart.

3. Scott (and the team, apparently) realize that if we’re going to give some time to read a book and write about it and give them some free press, that it’s nice to be rewarded. THANKED. Appreciated. And, yes, we enjoy SOME FORM OF PAYMENT. No, not monetary, of course, but something is always nice..a referral, a contact, an opportunity, a thank you email… in this case, it was BEFORE the REVIEW even happened. BRILLIANT. So today Scott demonstrated that he recognized that we’re ALSO trying to build a business and succeed and we also have projects we’re working on, etc. What a refreshing approach, I tell you!

4. Scott suggested a time to call. Initially I resisted big time. I am in the middle of a lot of stuff right now, but something encouraged me to make time for a quick call and we got on the phone.

5. On the phone Scott THANKED me again. Simple, yes, but it was nice. He said, I just wanted to see if there’s something we can to do help you since you’re helping us. Tell me about your startup story and why you’re helping women…

6. He LISTENED. I can’t emphasize this enough. He wasn’t trying to cut me off and suggest that “chapter 2″ covers this topic or whatever. He just cared about where I came from and where I’m headed. He asked what our goals were, etc. offered some ideas, etc. It was nice.

7. He also SHARED his story when I asked him… simple, but he was willing to engage and it was nice to hear about how he met Mike and why he’s on board with the book, etc.

8. He INVITED me to read the book…not just Michelle McCullough (who I had told him would be reading it and reviewing it). I said I wouldn’t promise but I’d be happy to look through it…(now, however I want to).

9. He OFFERED additional suggestions for  how we could get involved with Mike besides the book (mentoring access, tele-seminars, speaking ops, etc.etc.)…he wanted to create more of a partnership relationship rather than just a “reviewer” relationship–HUGE difference. We left the conversation open to possibilities…perfect for a new connnection, no promises, no commitments, just offers.

10. He FOLLOWED UP with links to videos we could post, etc. Like THIS ONE> by Mike,

Start and Grow a Healthy Business in a Recession

Way to go, Scott. You have excellent Networking skills. Extraordinary skills. I have no doubt Mike’s book is awesome. I look forward to it. Way to go, Mike for being brilliant and coaching Scott to follow this approach (or designing it together?) You make a great team.

This entry was posted in Feature, Startup & Grow and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

14 Responses to “How to Get Someone to Review Your Book”

  1. Guy Kawasaki on November 5th, 2008 8:52 pm

    Please review my book! :-)

    Guy Kawasaki

  2. startupprincess on November 5th, 2008 10:28 pm

    Guy,
    Wish Granted. :)
    Kelly

  3. “How to Get An Influencer To Review Your Book” | Networking Effectively by Scott Bradley on November 6th, 2008 6:57 am

    [...] just recently The Startup Princess wrote a post about How to Get Someone to Review Your Book that I wanted to share with [...]

  4. Mike Michalowicz on November 6th, 2008 2:13 pm

    Kelly,

    Thanks so much for posting this. I can’t wait to hear your (brutally honest) thoughts on The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur.

    Would love to meet up with you one day… you just need to able to throw back a few cold ones (that is my only requirement) :>)

    - Mike Michalowicz

  5. Michelle McCullough on November 6th, 2008 10:09 pm

    Wow, so refreshing. I’m super excited to read the book and even more excited about how rejuventated I feel about getting back to the basics instead of rushing through all the personal interactions we have on a daily basis. Thanks for sharing, Kelly!

  6. Dr. Leon Apolon, Ph.D., on January 3rd, 2009 4:48 pm

    I am a writer. I just complete one of my books. I need a complete review and corrections of my book. Please let me know if you can do that, and at what initial price for a book of 130 pages?

  7. Crystal Haney on June 16th, 2009 4:19 pm

    Please will you check out my book. It is not very long but it is very powerful. You can get it almost any book store online. It is called THE GATES OF JUBILEE by Crystal Ann Haney. It is only 60 pages long but will you least look at it. I am trying to get it out there in the main stream all around the world and just wish someone will just give it a chance it won’t take any time please. Thanks and God Bless.

  8. Brenda Estacio on August 27th, 2009 8:46 pm

    Looking for a great book? I would like to invite you to read my new fantasy novel, “Gateway to DreamWorld.” I would greatly appreciate your review of my book.
    It has just been listed on Amazon.com and Barnes&Nobles.com

    I would love to get your review of my first novel.
    Brenda Estacio

  9. jess on February 2nd, 2010 6:38 pm

    i am 12 and i just got finished writing 2 books of my series (each around 200 pages) can you please review my book???

  10. jess on February 2nd, 2010 6:40 pm

    oh yeah forgot to mention this : these are the books in my series : “Antebellum” “War” and “The Final Battle”
    i have not yet finished the third book but im getn ready to wrap it up… i would love for you to review my book… i would love to get my book published …

  11. Philippe Dube on April 3rd, 2010 12:29 pm

    Hi. I’m a visually-impaired author living in Edmonton, Alberta Canada. .

    My book “Finders Keepers Detective Agency” was published in November 2009. I’m trying to get the word out about it vecause I’m so proud of my accomplishment. I also believe my book to be very interesting and unique in many ways.

    Can you help me to find someone who will review my book? The book is available through abebooks.com or trafford.com or bookfinder.com or amazon.ca.

    I have just finished the sequel “Finders Keepers Deuces Wild” but I am waiting for the editors to send it back before I can publish it.

    Thank you in advance,
    Philippe Dube
    (780) 450-9035.

  12. Duncan on June 3rd, 2010 4:45 am

    Hi, I’ve just recently had my first book published and am looking for ways to get the book ‘out there’ and so that people know its worth a read, its a funny personal history of working in a UK office and I’d really like to share it with as many people as possible! I’d love it to be reviewed

  13. Eileen McNeal on February 16th, 2011 6:08 pm

    Hi, I just recently got my first book published. I need someone to review it and inspire some interest. It’s about my African American grandmother and is available on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble. Thank you for any help you can give me. Eileen

  14. Richard Smiraldi on May 25th, 2011 2:13 pm

    If there’s a prayer in Heaven won’t someone out there review my book, “SEVEN MURDERS IN SUSSEX”? It’s available at http://www.amazon.com and also at http://www.smashwords.com (as an ebook). Many thanks to all you wonderful people out there! Have a spectacular day! -richard

Got something to say?





Become A Startup Princess

Startup Princess is an international network committed to empowering Women Entrepreneurs by offering resources for women in business to support, mentor, collaborate, learn from, and inspire one another. In 2006, after struggling to raise funding for an initial startup business venture, Kelly King Anderson recognized an important market niche existed for reliable resources educating women desiring to start and grow successful businesses, thus Startup Princess was developed.

Successful women entrepreneurs understand that for every business venture, they are in charge of creating, organizing, developing, managing, and assuming all the risks associated with their enterprise. That can seem quite intimidating but as other women business owners will tell you, it’s a lot of work, but it’s worth it! Success is within your grasp and Startup Princess is here to help.

First, join as a member of Startup Princess and start building a solid foundation. Membership entitles you to a listing in the Startup Princess Online Directory where we list women owned businesses. You’ll also access exclusive content like articles, videos, and audio straight from your email inbox. Coupled with feature interviews, discounts on events, networking connections, and press opportunities, your Startup Princess membership will give any woman entrepreneur a great start for her business!

Then, take advantage of Touchpoint, our annual business conference for women entrepreneurs. Practical planning meets sky-high inspiration at this high-impact event for women business owners to network and develop their approach to business with wisdom and creative direction from other women entrepreneurs across the country.

Need a little help taking your business to the next step? Wish you had a fairy godmother like Cinderella offering you a helping hand? Now you can! Startup Princess is the home of Fairy Godmother Consulting, volunteer mentors sharing tips and insights to bless the lives of other women entrepreneurs.

Startup Princess can offer many benefits to women in business from future women business owners to successful women entrepreneurs. Please call or fill out our contact form with questions, concerns, or general interest and let us help you by giving you full access to everything Startup Princess has to offer!